About Riau Islands

The Riau group of islands encompasses some 3000 islands in the South China Sea. The province is made up of several archipelagos - most notably, the Riau archipelago, to the south of Singapore, which is home to Bantam and Bintan islands. The Lingga archipelago lies off the southeastern coast of the Indonesian province of Riau, and the Natuna, Anambas and Tambelan island clusters are scattered in the waters between western Borneo, Sumatra and the Malay Peninsula. Some of the islands in the Riau group of islands are home to private island resorts, a few of which rival the best the Maldives has to offer in terms of design and facilities. Others are more relaxed in style, but all offer fantastic opportunities for snorkelling and diving and make for unforgettable private island escapes.